Paris

“Paris, First Class, International”

It’s one of those movie quotes that repeats itself often in my mind since getting this job.
Personally, I don’t love working first class, but in the movie “View From The Top”, working first class en route to Paris means you have really, truly ARRIVED.

Yesterday I returned from my first Paris trip in years, and where did I work? You guessed it.
And while it’s definitely not as glam as in “the good ol’ days”–and while I still don’t love working with the hoity toities in First–I don’t think I will ever get over PARIS.
I don’t know what it is about that city. Some people say it’s dirty, but having been in many, MANY European cities, I don’t see much of a difference, Maybe because it’s Paris, there’s an unspoken expectation that it should be pristine, but regardless, I still see nothing but beauty.

It was a Sunday morning when we arrived, and my coworker suggested we go to the outdoor market as soon as we got in. Despite our obvious exhaustion, we changed out of our uniforms and hoofed it the few blocks to the market, arriving just as it opened. The crisp morning air woke us up straight away, and the peacefulness of the morning combined with the invigorating sights, sounds and aromas of a quaint, outdoor fresh market were enough to make us positively chipper. I wish we had just stayed up and out rather than returning to our hotel with our market wares and napping for a few hours. But we did, agreeing to meet up again around 1:30 to go out again.

Both of us have been to Paris enough times to know we wanted to be leisure with our activities, but I let it slip that I had never been up the Eiffel Tower–a quintessential Parisian tourist experience–so that’s what we ended up doing.
Unfortunately, every other tourist in Paris had pretty much the same idea (don’t they know it’s not tourist season? Why are they in France in February??), so most of the time we were waiting in line. Nevertheless, it was an awesome experience. The weather was refreshing, the people watching was a delight, and the views were positively spectacular.

How could anyone say this city was dirty?

image

The shadow of the Eiffel Tower pointing toward, in the distance, Sacre Coeur

image

The Seine, with the French countryside in the distance

image

The lawn of the Eiffel Tower (which looks much prettier in the spring)

image

Looking up from the 2nd level

image

Not the best panoramic ever but what can you do?

image

The Seine

image

Le Tour Eiffel

Leave a Reply

